READ THE BIG PIECES

BUSY Weekend (VERY LONG)

Let’s see…

Friday

After work, I believe I laid down for a bit (been quite exhausted the last week or so…) then drove The Peanut to meet his dad for the weekend. (Don’t know if I mentioned this or not, but The Toad got his own apartment a few weeks ago. Congrats to him.). Took me about and HOUR to drive home afterward.

Spoke to my friend, Interior Designer, on the way home. Let her know we [the Queens’ Croppers] were all meeting at my house because The Frau’s youngest was sick. We wanted to give her and the kids a chance to rest (she’s been quite exhausted since getting her two little ones about 2 weeks ago).

Got home about 1/2 hour before everyone starting arriving.

I didn’t scrap with the ladies, but did finish the necklace that I’d started Thursday during Crafty Thursday Lunch with The Creative One, The Runner and The Opinionated One. (As you can probably guess, I’m trying to respect my friends’ anonymity in my blogs). I will post a picture of the necklace later.

I was up until about 2 am with The Queens’ Croppers.

Saturday

I woke up Saturday morning and had a rendevouz with He-Man. Was fun.

Had planned to finish painting in my bedroom and maybe move some furniture. Didn’t happen because I have a tendency to get down after seeing He-Man. I’m pretty sure I know why, but doesn’t stop me from doing it. Also didn’t help that I watched “I Am Sam” on TV. Good movie, but depressing too.

Just so the day wasn’t a total waste, I took the cart out of the dining room and put it outside. It has metal shelves and wooden top. I intend to use it to hold BBQ tools and such. Let’s see how it survives the weather…

Met The Interior Designer at Starbucks for some hot chocolate and chit-chat. We talked about her design portfolio and also discussed some ideas I had for my house. She’s actually quite talented and does beautiful work. I can’t wait to see her next project. 🙂

She gave me a big [26″] TV to take home. A neighbor of hers moved out and left the TV. She already has a big TV so said that I could take it if I wanted to (apparently, the little 13″ I have in my bedroom didn’t seem big enough to her :-p). I may actually give the big TV to Inny as it is only cable-ready and I like to watch DVDs/videos in my bedroom and need a TV that has A/V hook-ups. Was planning to maybe get myself a 19″ flat panel sometime next year…we’ll see.

After meeting with The Interior Designer, I went home and worked on my cross stitch, watched a Lifetime movie about CoCo Chanel and painted the last wall in my bedroom.

Again, up until 2 am.

Sunday

Now, SUNDAY was a BUSY day.

Busy, busy, busy.

I got up late. Actually woke up around 6 and had trouble falling back to sleep, but there was NO WAY I was getting up at 6 after going to bed at 2.

Finally got up around 10 and hit the ground running.

I painted the trim (1st coat) on the last wall then started The Great Furniture Rearrangement.

I emptied the drawers of the dressers in The Peanut’s room and took them downstairs. I taped the edges then took them outside to be painted. Put the first coat of primer on then went inside to do more. And of course, while dragging the dresser outside, backed right into the corner of my kitchen counter. No bruise, yet, but VERY sore hip.

Threw in a load of laundry then had The Babbler clean off the top of her dresser so I could get that ready to move.

Cleared out a spot in The Peanut’s room and then went down to take the mirror of the dresser in the Babbler’s room. Pulled out the drawers and put them in the living room, then moved the dresser from her room to Peanut’s room.

Dusted and polished.

Went to my room and took the tape down (from painting the wall). Began the second coat on the trim and started emptying the wardrobes.

Flip-flopped the laundry.

Took the mirror upstairs to the Peanut’s room. Put it on top of the dresser (where it belonged) and cleaned and polished it.

ONE thing accomplished! Go me!

Next, I shimmied, tilted and dragged the wardrobes down the stairs. Dropped one on my toe, so had to deal with some blood. *sigh*

Once they were downstairs, I cleaned the spot where The Babbler’s dresser was and made her leave the room so I could bring the wardrobes in and not worry about them possibly falling on her. Got them in and in place.

TWO things accomplished!

After they were in, I went back up to my room and moved the dresser from my walk-in closet into my bedroom (where the wardrobes were). As I was uncovering the mirror for the dresser THE BIGGEST FUCKING SPIDER IN THE UNIVERSE came scrambling out and ran and hid behind a bookcase.

OMFG! I hate spiders! I’ve been getting better, but good gods that thing was HUGE and FAST!

Rather than freak and not finish my projects, I, warily, finished getting the mirror out of the room and hooked it up to my dresser.

Ran out and put two more coats of paint on the dressers (and drawers).

Then I had to run and pick up The Peanut. Picked him up and started home. Talked to The Spider Whisperer along the way and was delighed when she offered to help me get rid of the spider. *willies* blech!

Once home, The Peanut went out to play with friends while I finished The Great Furniture Rearrangement.

I pulled the chest of drawers out of The Babbler’s room and then paid for the pizza.

After pizza and soda, The Spider Whisperer came over and helped me get rid of Big Fucking Ugly Spider. (Thank goodness, because I don’t think I could have slept until that thing was gone. I sure hope it doesn’t have friends in the house!)

After The Big Fucking Ugly Spider was gone, The Spider Whisperer helped me carry the chest of drawers to my bedroom.

Shortly after that, my friend, The Runner, came over for pizza and company. She was having a bad day and needed some company. Actually, I think she needed the mindless fun of playing with The Peanut and his friends. 😉

While she was playing on the scooter with the kids, I dragged the chest of drawers into my closet and took up the drawers.

Cleaned and polished and began filling the drawers.

THREE things accomplished!

The Runner and The Peanut helped me carry in the dressers and drawers and put them together in the dining room.

FOUR things accomplished!

Afterward, sat and chatted with The Runner for a bit. After The Peanut’s shower, he read for a bit and then said goodnight to The Runner.

I then set up the dishwasher to run while we were in bed and brought the last drawer upstairs (for the chest of drawers).

I took a shower while The Peanut put his clothes away. After my shower, The Peanut and I had our nightly cuddle.

After our cuddle, I went to the basement and flipped the laundry one last time, grabbed the carpet cleaner for The Babbler (cat puked on her carpet) and grabbed an extension cord so I could put an extra fan in The Peanut’s room.

After getting The Peanut all set for bed, I relaxed in my room (watched Season 2 of Stargage: Atlantis).

Took me FOREVER to finally fall asleep because it was so flippin’ hot. I also think it was because I’d had SOOOOOOO much caffeine (had 1/2 gallon of iced tea and about 4 glasses of Pepsi the whole day)…and I was also still a bit creeped out about The Big Fucking Ugly Spider.

And of course, come in to the Spirit Crushing Shit Hole to find the air isn’t working. There are no fucking windows in this piece of shit building.

I feel sick to my stomach, tired and do NOT want to be here.

Ain’t life grand?

*sigh*

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud