READ THE BIG PIECES

One Year

Image

One year ago, my aunt took her last breath while I held her.

One year ago, my son’s heart cracked wide open.

One year ago, I couldn’t think of the words to comfort my son.

One year ago, I was so shell-shocked I could barely cry.

One year ago, I had to figure out how to bury a loved one.

One year ago, I had to decide what to do with someone’s belongings.

One year ago, I had to “grow up” and I didn’t like it.

One year ago, I got angry at someone for leaving me.

One year ago, I lost someone who annoyed the hell out of me at times.

One year ago, I didn’t show her that I loved her quite enough.

One year ago, I got bitch-slapped by the Universe.

One year ago, I had to learn how to put my son’s heart back together.

One year ago, I lost a piece of my heart.

One year. 

Why does it seem so long and so short?

 

Comments on: "One Year" (2)

  1. Such a lovely picture. 🙂

  2. Here’s to new start.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

