READ THE BIG PIECES

Sibling Dates

My brother, D, and I have been taking each other on “movie dates” since we were in our early 20s (maybe while still in HS).  And no, we’re not from West Virginia :-p

It started with him wanting me to see the movie SPAWN.  Now my attention span has been “speeding flea” for most of my life, but as long as a movie keeps my attention, I’ll watch it.  I *loved* SPAWN!  [“Spawnie!  Spawnie!  He’s our man, if he can’t do it, no one can!  S to the P to the A to the WN.  S to the P to the A to the WN.  Go Spawnie!  Go Spawnie”  “You’ve been Violated, Girly Man.”]  And a new, fun activity was born.  We started taking each other to the movies.

We saw the LOTR trilogy together.  On the last movie, D wasn’t working, so I was treating.  We stood in line, chatting, to get tickets.  D is taller than me and has long hair.  I look like your typical preppy nerd, so we were getting some stares.  Well, we finally get up to the window and I ask for two tickets to the movie.  The girl is just STARING at my brother.  I mean STARING and has a quizzical look on her face.  I get her attention again, ask for the tickets and then after another staring zone out, she takes my money.  As she’s giving me my change, she’s staring at D again.  He’s finally had enough and looks at her and goes, “Yeah, and she’s buyin’ me dinner too!” and walks off.  Oh, I laughed my ass off for days after that one.

Anyway, this weekend, I took D to see The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.  We stopped for dinner at Arby’s beforehand.  It had been a while for him, so I introduced him to the mouthwatering Bacon Beef & Cheddar and Loaded Potato Bites.  I may have reached Best-Sister-EVER status for that :-p

The movie was actually pretty good.  A little too much nudity for my tastes (because I was with my freakin’ brother…AWK-WARD).  We ran into friends on the way out and we got in to a discussion about the movie not being scary but thrilling/exciting.  Our friends were really expecting the movie to be scary and we assured them, no, it was fine.  Come to find out, after our movie, the theater was now showing The Devil Inside!  HA!  We were talking about two, totally different movies.  Belly laughs on that one.

After that, I took D home and we chatted for a bit.  Watched a UFC/MMA bout and then sat and watched one of the dumbest damn movies ever.  Piranha.  O.M.G.  That’s two hours of my life I’ll NEVER get back.  However, the company was fun and we did chat throughout (one thing you must remember, you do NOT talk while D is watching TV/Sports/Movies). 

I left about 2 am.  Took me for freakin’ ever to fall asleep (was still up at 4:30 am), but I seriously enjoyed myself.

Can’t wait to find another movie we both want to see!  🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

