READ THE BIG PIECES

01 – Hobbies

In an effort to TRY to get my life back to normal, I’m going to TRY to do the daily blogging thing (of which, I’ve already failed, but we’ll TRY to ignore that little flub, shall we?)

So…hobbies.

I haven’t done much in the way of my hobbies lately.  I *did* rearrange and [start to] reorganize my Studio.  I’m not going to re-hash it all here, but you can check out my Crafty Blog for details (and pics!).

I made a few pieces of jewelry for birthday gifts.  Most you’ve seen, but one I forgot to take a picture of, so will have to remedy that.

However, my latest blast of creativity has, believe it or not, revolved around my mother’s death.

My mother donated her body, so we can’t have a funeral.  However, we ARE having a Memorial Service (this Friday).  I just got her ashes back last week.  I found out, after the fact, that it’s a funeral home that handles all the fine details like memorial cards, etc. 

Side Note:  Most of you, who know me, know I’m a *tad* irreverent at times, so, you will not be surprised that I  have been referring to those cards at “Death Trading Cards”.  Must be the influence from my son’s baseball card obsession.

Anyway, I decided to make my own Mom Trading Cards.  She was Catholic (I am NOT), but not practicing, so those preachy, overly religious cards would so not have been her.

So, I made these:

I absolutely love them.  The quotes most definitely reflect my mother and the hands are actually my mom and one of her grandchildren.  We couldn’t have bought anything more fitting or beautiful (if I do say so myself).

Enlargement of Mom's Hand (for detail)

So, obviously, THOSE are the project I am most proud of.

Comments on: "01 – Hobbies" (3)

  1. […] I made a few things for my mother’s Memorial Service. […]

  2. […] addition to her Trading Cards, I made a Guest “Sheet”.  It’s not a book, because, who really fills up one of […]

  3. So sorry for your loss. I pray that the memorial service captures all that your mother was to you and everyone she loved.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

