READ THE BIG PIECES

21 – Jacob

As usual, I’m playing catch-up…

Let’s see…

Jacob made it to Round 2 of his school’s Geography Bee.  Sadly, he didn’t make it to Round 3, but he was so happy for two of his friends who did (how cool is that?!).

He’s been doing spectacularly well with his recovery.  He’s now out of the cast and in a cam boot.  For a little over a week more, then he’s back into regular shoes!  My baby has two feet again!!!!  He’s actually walking and doing some exercises on his own.  He starts physical therapy tonight.  Hopefully, he won’t be too sore tomorrow…

He’s doing well in school.  He just finished his first semester, so I should be seeing a report card soon.  I think he went down in a couple of subjects, but is still above a B in everything, so I’m not too concerned.

He made me very proud last week. 

Since his latest surgery, not many of his "friends" have been over to see him, let alone invited him to join them with anything.  But Tuesday (I think), N saw us coming home and said, "Hey Jake!  You wanna go to E’s with me??"  Jake was quite excited about it and went inside to change, in that time, N’s brother, K came over.  He wanted to play video games.

Now, K is the ONLY kid who has consistently either come over to play with Jake or invited Jake to come play at his house.  (And he’s the younger brother, so no one wants to play with him 😦   poor kid, he really is sweet).

Jake was torn and I told him it was HIS choice to make.

And he made the one I hoped he would.

He told N that he was going to stay and play video games with K.

Obviously, the weather and the cast were a factor in the decision, but he DID recognize K was a true friend through it all and he rewarded loyalty with loyalty.

He IS paying attention!  LOL

Now, I’m not saying N and the rest of the clan are BAD friends.  I just think they’re typical, insensitive almost-teenage boys.  Once Jake is completely mobile again, I’m sure they’ll all be back to playing football, riding bikes, playing baseball, whatever.  But I don’t think Jake will ever forget the abandonment.  He can forgive it, but he won’t forget it.

Wish his mama could say the same…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

