READ THE BIG PIECES

16 – Habits

Habits.

I could talk about bad habits, good habits, creating habits or breaking habits…

I think I’ll probably touch on all of them at some point, but let’s start with creating habits.

I need to get into the habit of sticking to my schedule(s).  I have routines, most of the time I follow them, but sometimes (like if I get on the freakin computer!) I completely blow them off.

I guess this is more of a BREAKING a habit rant…hmmm…

I need to break the habit of faffing off most of my day on facebook.  For someone who doesn’t really like other people, I spend a lot of time being nosy about other peoples’ lives.  It started off as a way to connect with old friends and turned into a nightmare of games and "status lotto".  I think I need to cut out facebook.  I don’t want to completely cut it out, but I need to break the habit of the games. 

I need to get into the habit of making a  menu plan for dinners.  I’d like to be good and do an entire month at once, but I know that won’t happen.  I need to sit down on Sunday, plan my meals for the week, shop, and make sure I cook!  I love to cook, why is it so hard for me to do something I like?  Because I don’t know WHAT I want to cook.  And I’m so freakin tired when I come home from  work I don’t want to do anything, but that’s just me being a whiney maggot and I need to get over myself.

FlyLady calls the "good" habits "routines".  She sets up a routine for the whole day.  Morning Routine.  Afternoon Routine.  Before Bed Routine.  I started writing all that shit down, but then I place it somewhere (not where it should be *sigh*) and forget about it.

Figuring out a place to START is always the hardest for me.

So…I’m going to blindly run my finger over this post and wherever it stops, is where I’m going to start…

Morning Routine.

Ok…let’s see, what do I do in the mornings?

Get up
pee
wash hands
remove retainers
brush teeth
wash face
wake up The Widget
Get dressed
Brush hair (should add STYLE hair)
Make sure the Widget brushed, washed, dressed and used deodorant
go downstairs
grab work bag
grab The Widget’s school bag
Grab lunches (if I remembered to make them the night before!)
fuck around on the computer (that needs to go!)
Put the Widget on the bus
Go to work

Wow!  I guess I do more than I thought, however, making and eating breakfast should be in there somewhere (although, I will admit, I have made breakfast at work and eaten it there).  However, I’m on a grits kick right now and it doesn’t take all that long to make a bowl of grits for breakfast.  Maybe I will do that tomorrow.  

Add in breakfast and see where this takes me.  Hopefully, but next week, I can work on a new routine (or keep refining this one, who knows)…guess we’ll find out next month!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

