READ THE BIG PIECES

Home

Today is the 12th, therefore my topic today is HOME.

Home.

That could have so many meanings.  I could talk about what *I* think makes my "house" a "home".  I could talk about how I need to clean it and organize it (but there is a 31 Day Topic for that, so I won’t talk about that here).

I guess I could talk about my home life. 

Or the fact that I am a "home"body.

Anyway, you get the idea…

I guess I’ll try to describe the inner workings of my home…

It’s a 1950’s Cape Cod.  Officially, it’s listed as a 1.5 story home, but I have a full second floor, and an attic, so I’d call it a 2 story.  The previous owner finished 3/4’s of the basement, so I have a sizable amount of living space in my little cape cod.  Oh, and I’m on 1/10th of an acre and have a shared driveway.

It’s the first home I’ve ever bought and I fell in love with it the instant I walked in the door (a friend told me I would feel that way when I walked into the right house, but I didn’t believe her)…

I have 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen (that I recently remodeled, but haven’t finished), utility room, craft room, playroom (craft room and playroom are in the finished portion of the basement).  My bedroom has two closets…one reach-in and one very large walk-in.  Back in the day, I’m sure it was meant as a sitting room or a small nursery, but again, the previous owners turned it into a walk-in closet.  It also has "Alice-In-Wonderland-Doors" that access a crawl space and the attic.  There’s also a coat closet and two linen closets.  Each bedroom has one closet.  The Widget’s room has a reach-in, the other room has a reach-in that also goes about 8 feet to the right (sort of a really long rectangle, with the only door on one long end, down by the short end…clear as mud?  LOL)

Believe it or not, I’ve been here close to 6 years and I’ve NEVER been up in the attic.  The guy who did my home inspection said he couldn’t stand up straight up there, there’s no electricity up there, has blown in insulation (whole house is plaster and lathe, with blown-in insulation – that "could be asbestos" *sigh*) and I’m a serious bug-phobe.  Bugs like dark places.  I don’t like bugs, so I don’t go up there.  LOL

Stupid, I know, because it runs the whole length and width of the house and is SERIOUS storage space, but there’s no way in hell I’m doing it.  If someone else wants to go up there for me, I’ll be GLAD to hand you all the boxes to put up there.  šŸ˜€

I’m still in the process of decorating my home (yes, even after 6 years).  I think I have a grand total of 10 pictures on my walls.

Hmmm…maybe I should give a photo/verbal tour of the house?  I dunno.  MAYBE I could give the tour of the rooms that I haven’t "finished" yet and you all can tell me what you like and don’t like and help me freakin’ decorate the place.  It just seams like a continuous work-in-progress and I hate that, but I’m an engineer.  That means I’m analytical.  I can tell you what furniture will fit into the room, the best placements (by dimension), but color?  fabric?  aesthetic?  Not a freakin clue.

Well, that’s not entirely true.  I can "decorate" on a small scale.  I can choose colors that I think will work in the room or what colors I WANT in the room, but pulling it all together and making a cohesive statement is NOT my forte.  LOL

So, so sad for a "creative" person.

Ok, I’ve given you a verbal tour of the house.  Next time, I’ll give you a photo tour.  And hopefully not show how much of an effin slob i am – i HATE housework.  And just for the record, my house isn’t dirty, it’s poorly arranged and cluttered.  I don’t have "bugs".  I think there are spiders in my attic and utility room, but no cockroaches or other "vermin". 

I know what I like, but I can’t make it look like it does in a magazine.  Even if I did everything, exactly the way the picture shows, it’s still…"off"…

Whatever, there’s my entry for the day.

Welcome to my chaotic, cluttered, comfy home!

Comments on: "Home" (1)

  1. 31 days

    I so enjoy reading these. Keep it up! My topic for today is Beauty , in particular, whether or not I want to get into wearing makeup to hide. Lol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

