READ THE BIG PIECES

Mommy Misery

I’ve been lucky enough to have a little help with the day-to-day work of being a mom to the Peanut.

My aunt would get him up and ready for school, so I could go in to work EARLY and be home for him after school (as he requested).

However, suddenly, this year, it’s just not working out properly.

I can’t get up at 5 am. I can barely get up at 6 am. I get to work between 7 and 7:30. The Peanut doesn’t get up until 7:45, so I’m still up and out before he gets up, but I don’t get home until 4:30 – 5…WAY later than originally intended (was getting home around 3 previously).

This morning, he woke up with a headache. He’s had a stuffy nose for a couple of days now. Sometimes his throat hurts and he coughs. AND we’ve been dealing with bloody noses (SO can’t wait for Spring to break!).

He doesn’t have a fever, but I can’t *see* if he’s miserable. I’m pretty sure he’ll be fine once he actually gets to school and hangs out with his friends, but I hate not being the one to evaluate his condition.

I thought I was doing the right thing by adjusting my schedule to his request. He wants me home AFTER school. And my aunt is a morning person. She also used to be more mobile/agile in the mornings. Now, she only gets out of bed to go to the bathroom. :-/

I think I need to re-adjust my schedule again. I need to be home in the mornings to make sure he’s getting up, feeling ok and doing the whole personal hygeine routine. My aunt can’t get up the stairs, so she can’t verify that he has done all he’s supposed to (WHY are boys so gross that they don’t brush their teeth!?!?)…

But of course, if I change my schedule, I’m getting home late (about the time most people do) and will be making dinner late, eating late, going over work late, showering late, going to bed late…

I can try to console myself with the fact that it’s only for a couple of months…he’ll be starting middle school next year and they start a good hour before the elementary schools, so I could conceivably go back to my earlier routines then…might be good for both of us.

Also, I’d probably get a bit more rest(of course, this frelling pinched nerve rest is a dream). Be able to get a bit more done in the mornings (like a load of laundry, maybe). Dress better. Do my hair. Do my make up. You know, take pride in my appearance (which, to be honest, I could give a fig about any other time…I just don’t think I need to impress anyone with my make-up applying abilities…I’m not trying to stand out…I want to blend in).

Anyway, I made the decision to stay home until he leaves for school from now until the end of the year. I’ll be at work late, but maybe that will be ok. Days are getting longer and he can play a bit longer after school…we’ll just do homework after dinner.

Maybe this change will be a good one…cross your fingers…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

