READ THE BIG PIECES

On Childrens’ Books

I have a horrible, twisted secret.

I LOVE Childrens’ Books.

I mean LOVE them.

I have read just about everything by Cornelia Funke (currently reading Inkdeath). I read the entire “Harry Potter” series and will go see ALL the movies.

I’m currently reading Leven Thumps and the Whispered Secret to Jacob at night (second book in the “Leven Thumps” series).

And I now wnat to start reading Artemis Fowl and Magyk (Septimus Heap).

I’m highly intelligent (so I’ve been told), yet I can’t force myself to read “grown up” books. Actually, that’s not entirely true. I loved the Leather Stocking Series and other grown up books. However, I’m more into being entertained at the moment than I am at being “moved”.

I’m chalking that up to WAY too much stress and needing something light to read.

Ideally, I’d love to lock myself in a library; one with bookshelves ceiling to floor; and read my way out. Anything. Everything.

Ah, heaven!

However, this is real life and there’s very little time to read, do all my other sordid hobbies, work, be a mom and relax.

Grrr…

Retirement.

THAT’s when I’ll read like a mo-fo.

Promise.

But, until then, I will enjoy my decent into the world of Childrens’ Literature.

pppbbbttt :-p

Comments on: "On Childrens’ Books" (4)

  1. Hi–Mike’s wife here. If you love children’s lit you should check out the The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper. From wikipedia–Susan Mary Cooper is a British author best known for The Dark Is Rising, an award-winning five-volume fantasy saga set in and around England and Wales. The books incorporate traditional British mythology (Arthurian and folkloric elements) with original material (e.g. “the Old Ones”).
    They also made a movie out of one of the books (although I was disappointed it didn’t follow the book too well) called The Seeker. It’s rated PG and you and Jacob both might enjoy it. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0484562/

  2. AWESOME!! Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

    How have you been?

  3. You’re welcome! I fell in love with her books in middle school, I was so excited to see them again at Borders! We’ve been ok, I’ve been sick off and on all winter. No big surprise but work’s not too happy that I follow my dr’s orders! We went to CA for a week and that was fun. Although I was disappointed in the weather–kinda chilly!

  4. I hope you’re feeling 100% soon! It’s no fun to be sick/sore/hurting.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

