READ THE BIG PIECES

Guess what?!

I worked on my kitchen last night!

Not surprised, huh?

Me either.

Again, the wonderful guys in the shop (Thanks, JD!) let me borrow “hogs and arbors” to cut through the counter top (that’s a hole saw and the attachment that allows you to put it in a drill chuck for those of us with little shop jargon prowess :-p)

After discussing the plan with them, I went home with a bit of confidence that I *could* do this.

See, the threaded ends of my faucet and taps are not long enough to pass completely through the countertops. “Don’t you just have to put them through the sink?” I hear you all say. Yeah, one would think that! But me, being me, bought a sink wiht no cut outs nor space for cut outs for a faucet and taps.

Damn blonde hair!

Anyway, I have to cut out some of the countertop underneath to give me a channel with which to attach the faucet and taps.

FUN!

SO NOT!

I killed 3 batteries between two drills and had the drills torqued out of my hands no less than 3 times. My wrists are killing me and my frustration levels are at a record high.

BUT

I got the little effers out!

Just to give you an idea of how thick the counter top is…

I had to drill halfway through on one side and then flip the counter top over and drill the other half.

The countertop is 8′ long. 26″ wide. and nearly 2″ thick.

OBVIOUSLY, I had to ask for help to keep flipping the damn thing back and forth.

I *HATE* not being able to do something myself.

Thankfully, Natalie is as stubborn as I am, so she doesn’t rub it in my face that there are certain things I just can’t do on my own. The only person who gave me guff about asking was her son K. Little booger kept smacking my butt!

That’s ok…I tickled the crap outta him! 😀

Anyway, I’ve got the holes for the sink completely out and the ones for the faucet, etc. started.

Tonite, I plan to finish drilling out the faucet holes and the sink space (connect the dots!) I think I need to cut out a few notches in the base cabinet, just to make sure everything “passes”.

OMG is it over yet?!?!

[BTW, my aunt’s lip is much better, but bruised now. And the cat is still alive…for now…]

Comments on: "Kitchen Goodness or Evil Fucking Countertops?" (2)

  1. Awww! You always do all of the fun stuff when I’m not there!
    However I am proud of you for taking control of this project all by yourself. I feel bad for not helping but I also feel bad if I spoil your fun. You’ll have to teach me everything you know.

  2. Moral support is just as appreciated and needed at labor support!
    I’m sorry you missed all the “fun”, it was never my intention to take that away from you! I still have one small piece of counter top to cut and all the plumbing and some electrical to do…you can play then if you want! :-p

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

