READ THE BIG PIECES

We Have Cabinets!!!!

I just have to start this by saying, “I have the most awesomest friends in the world!”

I went out to the shop on Friday afternoon to see if any of the guys had a hole saw I could use. Not only did I get the hole saw, I got a pipe cutter too!

AND

Friday night, two wonderful friends, Christi and Susan, came over to help me with my kitchen. Between the three of us and about 6 hours, we put together ALL of the remaining cabinets (minus the rather LARGE pantry). ALL. My friends came over to help me and stayed until 2 am.

I am a lucky woman!

Saturday afternoon, Danny came up and we dove in with the kitchen. We hung the corner wall cabinet and had to take it down again after we pulled it from the wall while tightening the bolts. Apparently, we missed a stud (or 12) when we hung the track. DOH!

After much swearing and some giggling, we got it on the wall!!!!

Dan I worked diligently until about 1 am. BUT, we got ALL the remaining cabinets hung AND we put together the pantry.

After we got the cabinets up, we put the base cabinets back underneath.

After we gave up for the night, Dan and I sat and chatted and giggled until about 2. Danny is a TOTAL night owl, so while he went down to the playroom to watch TV, I took my shower and then CRASHED until WAY after the sun came up (0900).

Dan and I did something before I had to take Jake to lacrosse practice, but for the life of me, I can’t remember what.

Dan went to bed while I took Jake to practice (where I got a friggin sunburn!). When Jake and I got back, we woke Dan up and we got back to work (at his request…he yelled at me the last time for letting him sleep too long? WTF? 2 HOURS is too long?!?!)

Anyway…

Dan and I jumped into it again and put the pantry and the over the fridge cabinet up and on the wall.

They don’t line up, but I don’t give a shit. They’re up and I already have plans for that little space šŸ™‚

After that, he helped me move my fridge back into place and then get the damn microwave hutch out of my aunt’s room.

WOO HOO!!!!!!

I only have the REALLY hard stuff left now :-p

counter tops
dishwasher
sink
sink cabinet
plumbing
hooking up the fridge (water)
maybe a back splash
edge the floor
install thresholds

Ok, that’s all I can think of right now, but HELL, it’s enough!

I’m such a dork that I danced and took pictures after every cabinet got installed and I made Danny dance with me.

And I didn’t even care that I have NO curtains on my kitchen windows and the entire world could have seen our victory dances :-p

Comments on: "We Have Cabinets!!!!" (7)

  1. Anonymous said:

    Woo hoo!
    Way to go!!

  2. Re: Woo hoo!
    Thank you! šŸ™‚

  3. Anonymous said:

    Looks great!

    Your kitchen is looking great, Jen!

    -Sue.

  4. The Kitch is looking good!

  5. Thank you! šŸ™‚

  6. Anonymous said:

    from Michelle and Alex
    Awesome job! Can’t wait to see it, in person! {hugs!}

  7. Re: from Michelle and Alex
    Thank you guys!!!!
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

