READ THE BIG PIECES

Update

I went to the ER on Tuesday. Spent 4.5 hours there. They took xrays and told me they didn’t see any damage (duh, told them I don’t remember hurting myself). Diagnosed a pinched nerve (hell, I did that before I went in). Prescribed me Percocet and Flexeril. I flat out told them I probably wouldn’t take it. I don’t want PILLS, I want FIXED!

They insisted I take them both that night and to plan on not going into work the next day. Fine.

I filled the scripts and took the meds. Knocked me on my ass until after 9 am the next morning! And it was quick too.

After having my friends yell at me that I should “take the meds”, I decided to take ONE Percocet around lunch time. Well, I got dizzy, started to sweat and nearly passed out on my way up the steps (after yelling, “I think I need to go lay down!”). I slept most of hte afternoon.

Inny insisted on ordering dinner from a local pizza shop. Again, I decided to be a “good girl” and take my prescribed meds. Yeah, slept from basically 6 pm until 5 am. Woke up several times during the night and still have pain.

Fuck the meds. I’m not taking them anymore. I want the pinched nerve gone, not “hidden” under a fog of pain meds. I hate that feeling more than the pinch.

I’m supposed to follow up with an orthopaedist in 2-3 days. I can sorta understand that, but I need a referral from my regular doc first, whom I can’t see until Tuesday. :-/ And what’s my ortho gonna do? Prescribe meds. That’s what he does. He doesn’t FIX anything he masks it.

I fucking hate medical professionals. They’re fucking quacks. x-(

I’d rather see a chiropractor, at least they TRY to fix things (sans meds). But of course, my doc doesn’t believe in chiros and won’t give me a referral. Maybe if I badger him?

Comments on: "Update" (4)

  1. Sorry about that. 😦 I was sort of hoping muscle relaxants would help un-pinch the nerve, if that was it. Sometimes it’s worked for me.
    And sometimes getting a break from the pain has helped. But maybe that’s a fibro thing. With fibro, they’re finding that your brain maintains the pain-memory much longer than a normal brain does, so when I can break the pain cycle, I start over at a relatively normal state. Was hoping it would be the same for you, but apparently not.
    Have you tried seeing an osteopath, one who does adjustments? Regular doctors tend to see them as more legitimate than chiropractors, but they can actually get in there and fix stuff. Sometimes better, depending on their training. But not all osteopaths do adjustments anymore so you’d have to check and see if yours did.

  2. I have an appointment with the orthopedist today at 1415, so hopefully that will be SOMETHING…

  3. Medical Professionals
    That’s part of what I don’t like about medical professionals. The only way is through meds. I hate taking meds myself so most of the time if its not REALLY bothering me I don’t bother to take anything. I guess they figure if you take the time out to come see them for pain you want it gone and meds will cure that (and can also give you other issues). Hell, they perscribed me 600mg of motrin for a broken toe.
    However, like chaosdancer, I figured for something like a pinched nerve meds would help ease the pain. Just be careful with those chiropractors. Something about them makes me nervous.

  4. Medical Professionals
    That’s part of what I don’t like about medical professionals. The only way is through meds. I hate taking meds myself so most of the time if its not REALLY bothering me I don’t bother to take anything. I guess they figure if you take the time out to come see them for pain you want it gone and meds will cure that (and can also give you other issues). Hell, they perscribed me 600mg of motrin for a broken toe.
    However, like chaosdancer, I figured for something like a pinched nerve meds would help ease the pain. Just be careful with those chiropractors. Something about them makes me nervous.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

